50th Anniversay

Celebrating Our 50th Anniversary

CSTA 50th Anniversary Logo

CSTA was first incorporated on January 3, 1964 as the California Science Teachers Association – Northern Section. On July 10, 1972, the Articles of Incorporation were amended to change the name to California Science Teachers Association. The charter directors listed on the original 1964 documents are:

  • Gene Deady
  • Ralph Guyon
  • Bruce Henderson
  • Henry Nelson
  • Eugene Roberts

Over our 50+ year history CSTA has seen many successes as a result of the hard work and dedication of its many volunteers and with the support of our membership. To honor the leaders of the past, CSTA has established a 50th Anniversary Fund to support leadership development programs to foster the CSTA volunteers and leaders of our next 50 years. Individuals who make a tax-deductible donation to CSTA of $50 or more will be sent a commemorative 50th Anniversary pin and will be recognized in California Classroom Science. CSTA existed in an unincorporated form prior to 1964. We have records of past presidents of the organization going back to 1945. However, we use 1964 as the year of our establishment as that was the year we incorporated and filed with the Secretary of the State of California. The following is a list of CSTA's Past Presidents:

  • 1944-45 Central California Council of Science Teachers - H.R. Jennings, Piedmont (H.B./Bayard Buckham, Oakland H.B.)
  • 1945-1971 California Science Teachers Association Northern Section (formal Articles of Incorporation were not filed until 1964)
  • 1945-46 William V. Emery, Berkeley (Berkeley High School)
  • 1946-47 J. A. Perino, San Francisco (Lowell H.S.)
  • 1947-48 Mauri Gould, Albany (Albany High School)
  • 1948-49 Secil Kyle, Redwood City (Sequoia High School)
  • 1949-50 Martin Van Waynen, Berkeley (Berkeley High School)
  • 1950-51 John Harville, San Jose (San Jose State)
  • 1951-52 Robert Rice, Berkeley (Berkeley High School)
  • 1952-53 Tholbert (Tim) Honea, Pittsburgh (Junior High School)
  • 1953-54 David Probert, Vallejo (Vallejo High School)
  • 1954.55 Eugene Roberts, San Francisco Polytechnic High School)
  • 1955-56 Richard Date, San Francisco (Balboa High School)
  • 1956-57 Margaret Nicholson, Walnut Creek (Acalanes High School)
  • 1957-58 Clyde Parrish, Palo Alto (Cubberly High School)
  • 1958-59 Louis Alcota, San Francisco (Lincoln High School)
  • 1959-60 Oreon Kesslar, Santa Clara (S. C. County Schools)
  • 1960-61 Bill Dresia, San Rafael (San Rafael High School)
  • 1961-62 Russ Archerd, Calistoga (Calistoga High School)
  • 1962-63 Father Richard Spohn, San Francisco (St. Ignatius High School)
  • 1963-64 Henry Nelson, Berkeley (Berkeley High School)
  • January 3, 1964 Articles of Incorporation Filed with the Secretary of State of California
  • 1964-65 Ralph Guyon, Santa Rosa (Montgomery High School)
  • 1965-66 Ira Guthrie, Benicia (Benicia High School)
  • 1966-67 Don Granholm, Palo Alto (Cubberly High School)
  • 1967-68 Bruce Duncan, San Leandro (Pacific High School)
  • 1968-69 Robert Sheldon, Sunnyvale
  • 1969-70 Gene Deady, Pinole (Piedmont High School)
  • 1970-71 Tom Mohr, Pacifica (Oceana High School)
  • 1971- Present California Science Teachers Association
  • 1971-72 Jack Davison, Ceres (Ceres High School)
  • 1972-73 Ira Taneman, Sepulveda
  • 1973-74 Don Stasi, Fairfield (Vanden High School)
  • 1974-75 Dan Shannon, San Diego (Kearney High School)
  • 1975-76 Marshall Fisher, Forestville (El Molino High School)
  • 1976-77 Ed Smith, Encino (Beverly Hills High School)
  • 1977-78 A Parker Stock, Orinda (Olympic High School, Concord)
  • 1978-79 Dorothy Change Van Horn, Los Angeles (LAUSD)
  • 1979-80 Norman McRae, Pleasant Hill (Pleasant Hill High School)
  • 1980-81 Charles F. Williams, Fullerton (CSU Fullerton)
  • 1981-82 Margaret Nicholson, Lafayette (Acalanes High School)
  • 1982-83 Willa Ramsey, San Diego (Gompers Secondary School)
  • 1983-84 Don Curry, Modesto (Davis High School)
  • 1984-85 Zac Hanscom, San Diego (CSU San Diego)
  • 1985-86 Jennifer Harris, Ukiah (Ukiah High School)
  • 1986-87 Garland Johnson, Fresno (Fresno Unified School District)
  • 1987-88 Phil Gay, San Diego (San Diego City Schools)
  • 1988-89 Matt Keller (Petaluma & Sonoma County Schools)
  • 1989-90 Roxie Esterle, Los Angeles (Herschel School
  • 1990-91 Robert Schneider, Bakersfield (Highland High School)
  • 1991-92 Brad Huff, Fresno (Fresno Unified School District)
  • 1992-94 Stephanie Baron, San Diego (Henry High School)
  • 1994-95 Duane Nichols, Walnut (Alhambra High School)
  • 1996-97 Karen Wheeler, Fresno (Fresno Unified School District
  • 1997-99 Deborah Tucker, Napa (K-12 Alliance)
  • 1999-2001 Al Janulaw, Penngrove (Creekside Middle School)
  • 2001-03 Dick Filson, Stockton (Edison High School)
  • 2003-05 Sharon Janulaw, Penngrove (Hahn Elementary)
  • 2005-07 Dean Gilbert, Huntington Beach (Los Angeles County Office of Education)
  • 2007-09 Susan Pritchard, La Habra, CA (Washington Middle School)
  • 2009-11 Tim Williamson, Signal Hill (Los Angeles County Office of Education/CSULB)
  • 2011-13 Rick Pomeroy, Woodland (UC Davis)

The California Science Teachers Association is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization and your donation may be tax deductible. Membership and donations are the backbone of the important work CSTA engages in to promote high quality science education.

Join Today!

  • 1-Year Membership
  • $50
  • 1-Year Membership
  • Enjoy a full year of CSTA membership.
  • Join Online

Quick Nav